Whence Your Pure Heart Came

image
"White Heart on Silver" by Rubem Rubierb

Whither shall I cast my impure heart,
Tainted by my wicked, sinful soul,
If your virtue repels me apart
From your purest love – sans blotch, sans hole;
My heart be condemned lest purge me whole.

Your soul is righteous, sacred and white;
Like a moon floating on starless sky;
Like a snow falling on winter’s night;
The upright among men gone awry;
The total truth among all who lie.

I admire you ever, virtuous muse;
I admire as you flaunt your beauty;
Your innate radiancy may soon lose;
Lest pray your heart be ever fruity;
For I pledge my life to your duty.

Leave a Reply

